Belly Brew

IMG_6098

This weekend I made one of my favorite herbal elixirs which I will call Belly Brew, or Lemon Licorice Love.

This blend is meant to aid in digestion, elimination, gas, and bloating.  It can be a tad bitter (bitter usually means it’s great for digestion and liver).

(((By the way, I am an herbal enthusiast! NOT AN EXPERT.  Be mindful of what I suggest and rely on your own wisdom and resources. I’ve taken some herbal classes and for a few years have been using herbs/plants/foods as medicine. My recipes are based on general knowledge I’ve picked up and how I’ve interpreted it based on what I remember and have experienced myself. )))
Below are the ingredients used.  Licorice root, lemon balm, and oats can be found at your local herb shop, Whole Foods or other health stores, or online.

Ginger: aids in digestion, warm, great for immune health

Lemon and Orange PEEL:  Carminative (anti-gas), lots of vitimins (I use the leftover peels from my Morning Detox Drink) 

Licorice Root: Helps with elimination, SWEET, soothing for throat

Lemon Balm: Eases nerves and nervous stomach, antidepressant, mild lemon flavor

Oats: Eases tension, soothing to nervous system, full of nutrients

In general I use 1 tablespoon of fresh herb and 1 teaspoon of dried herb per cup of water. However, I am not keen on exact measurements and usually just eyeball it and make decisions based on what I have and what I want.  For the ingredients shown in the picture, I used about 6-7 cups of water in the pot.

For this recipe I’d probably use LESS of the peels next time, since it came out a tad too bitter.

Begin by placing GINGER, LEMON AND ORANGE PEELS, AND LICORICE ROOT into a pot to boil. Once boiling,  turn down and simmer for 15-20 minutes.

After the 15-20 minutes, turn off heat and add the LEMON BALM and OATS. Let sit for another 10-15 minutes. NO MORE THAN 15 MINUTES. The Lemon Balm will also get bitter if left to steep too long.

Strain the blend, add honey if desired, and transfer to jars. Drink warm or at room temperature.  Will keep in the fridge for a couple days. Great way to start the day or to have before meals.

Cheers! 🙂

Leave a Reply

