A Call to WillPower

Wow!

Giving up the drinking has been easy thus far.  But the thought of further restricting my diet feels very challenging.  I am now facing this part of myself: I lovvveeeee to eat! Which of course is fine for many reasons. I need to eat to survive. It’s a way to nourish my body. It involves creativity and love. It brings people together. Of course eating is a fine practice. HOWEVER, I find myself in whirlpools of craving craving craving. I will eat my fill and want more more more, and find that the more I eat, the more I want. I am never satisfied! I am often caught in anguish around wanting to eat more and feeling tortured and fully distracted by the thought of food, OR overstuffed, very uncomfortable and sinking into guilt and grand plans for a changed diet. (Thus the impetus for the green drink… an interesting pattern to be aware of…) Whew! It can get messy, this human thing.

My goal in life, and the intention of this blog, is to feel as awesome as possible. To feel as happy and thriving as I can, or at the very least, more than I have been in the past.  Eating a certain quality and quantity of food can serve this goal.  Tidal-waves of craving get in the way.  Willpower is needed!!!

I look forward to taking a closer look at ‘willpower’ and addictions in general. For now, I want to talk a little more about my first response to my eating situation. I am very excited to learn more about healthy foods that are also super delicious! I’ve already  begun this journey and have come across an amazzzing blog:

This Rawsome Vegan Life

The drink in this link is basically the one I made this morning. I feel no drive, and never have, to live a vegan lifestyle. I have always been driven by instinct based on tidbits of nutrition information I’ve picked up along the way and what my body has experienced itself. I found the Rawsome website as I was searching for a cacao and nut based bar treat. I had something of the sort in Costa Rica and found it amazingly delicious, satisfying my desire for texture, chewiness, and sweetness AND full of things my body loves! Thus I have found these vegan recipes that happen to speak to what I’m looking for, yay!  (I look forward to exploring and sharing more about my thoughts and feelings around ‘diets’).

In the meantime, I will take more time to journal and reflect on my relationship with food, what I want for myself, and what this WillPower stuff is all about.  (After I made those videos, I sat in the kitchen another 10 minutes or so thinking about food, and then got myself a handful of sunflower seeds. Ay yi yi!)

Thanks for listening. 🙂

P.S.

Blogging itself has been an exciting journey. I’m learning more about technology and writing. I look forward to a new computer that will allow me to edit  videos! (So I won’t have to post two videos in one blog)  Taking and watching videos of myself has also been a trip! I’ve realized that a big reason to do the blog, and take videos, is so I can become a more effective communicator. I want to speak and write in a clear, confident, and compelling way, and I believe this blog experience can serve that goal.  Why become a better communicator? Because I love to share and connect! ❤

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jen
    Jan 24, 2014 @ 21:49:09

    Tamreh I am fully with you on this one!! Cravings are rediculous!! And “grand plans” while feeling guilty! Ha! So do that all the time. peanut butter and honey are two natural and slightly healthier options than candy that ive been turning to.. And heaping piles of chopped strawberries!! Love you! Cant wait to see your beautiful face in person!!

    Reply

  2. Jessica
    Jan 25, 2014 @ 03:30:30

    Hi! Thanks for sharing your journey! I also have a major food/flavor/texture addiction….I have a hard time only eating when I’m actually hungry because I’m constantly around food, being a personal chef…I go back and forth being super strict about not eating certain things like gluten and dairy and notice when I cheat I just fall completely off the wagon until I get really strict again…Its so hard to stay balanced!!! One thing I like to do with juicing… I make sure to “chew” the juice, its better for digestion and you will feel more like you are eating…Keep it up! ❤

    Reply

    • thirstyt
      Feb 01, 2014 @ 21:47:30

      It’s interesting how the cheat—>overeat cycle seems to work! This Will Power video talks about that. Seems we end up feeling guilty, then to soothe these guilty feelings, go to the thing that soothes us, the food! A fascinating loop.
      As for chewing, yess when I make smoothies I am really into this. But with pure liquid juice? I haven’t tried that yet… will give it a go. Sounds cool! ❤

      Reply

  3. Dan
    Feb 14, 2014 @ 21:53:09

    Took a long journey one time (very long) that taught me the importance of food as you have commented on, but the journey also taught me another side of that importance. Having to learn how to pack enough food for a 12 or 20 day stretch, and then having to look at it in a totally different way – like wow, if I eat all this tonight (and the reality was I could eat whatever I wanted to) where will I be in 6 days?? Out of food with how many more days to resupply!!!??? Well, as you can imagine, it is very easy now to look at things I really love to eat in a totally different way – instead of just something to eat, or want right now, but something worth waiting for because of what it brings to your life….and to relish it as everything else worth relishing in your life – like sunsets, getting to the top of a mountain, reading a good book, cooking! learning, writing, and all the other pursuits in life that make you happy. Without the journey, the view from the summit wouldn’t look quite the same….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

