Weekend Cleanse

I got into a loop of feeling lousy physically… which of course began to melt into my mind and emotions. Seems like a cold was threatening to take over and put me to bed with misery.  My digestion felt slow, my energy low… negative thoughts snuck their way in “You’re falling apart, something’s wrong with you, you’re doing things wrong, eating wrong, thinking wrong, acting wrong… you need to change, what’s wrong with you!” Which lead to “You need to change everything! You’re entire life! What are you DOING?!” (This, by the way, is the Gremlin)  When a cold beings to creep up… this is where my mind wants to go.  I believe there is some truth to it… my eating probably wasn’t ideal which probably didn’t help me feel better. But more importantly,  I don’t need to spiral out of control.  Getting sick sometimes, is no big deal… how I deal with it IS. I’d like to relax and be compassionate towards myself that I’m getting sick, without beating myself up and convincing myself my life is falling apart and I’m a huge failure.

Deep breath. What CAN I do?

Rest more. Say no to activities, stay in the house. Let the To Do List go.

Be mindful of what I eat… because I know it will help me feel better!

I dragged my feet on this for the past 2 weeks. My main excuse; “I already eat really well! Give me a break. Limiting myself soo much is ridiculous. I deserve more. I’m fine, it’s no big deal, I’ll survive.”

Okay, partly true AND I hate feeling lousy from a cold! And limiting myself just a few days can go a long way, just a few days! Relax Tamreh, you can do it.

Okay, let’s do this.

Step 1 Affirmation:  I make food choices that support my optimal functioning. This is fun and easy for me. I enjoy doing it!  I journaled on this new perspective for some time, visualized myself ending meals without snacking more, and really got a feel for what this place is like. I also wrote this on my bedroom mirror, and said it to myself several times throughout the day.

Step 2 Buying Food. Since I’ve done this before it was pretty easy to plan in my head my food for the weekend. (Otherwise writing down a list of items to buy can be very helpful!) I decided to simply stock up on a TON of fruits and veggies. I decided not to worry about the money. Feeling good is that important to me. So I went to whole foods and got lots of greens, carrots, beats, apples, lemon and ginger all for juicing. I decided for this weekend I will consume only juice (store bought and freshly juiced), cooked grains, cooked greens/onions, fruit, minimal nuts.  A simple nutritious meal plan.  AND I will minimalize my activity, go slow through my day, sleep in, go to bed early.

Step 3 Stay COMMITTED Having the food available in the house reallllly helps. Saying my affirmation to myself in the mirror, every morning, again and again until I was very convincing, really helped.  Then of course a friend offers to pay for take-out for me… ahh! “No thank you- I made a commitment to myself to eat a certain way this weekend and that does not fit in.” I had to say this out loud.  Staying in the house helped- a friend asked me out to dinner. Nope. Really I do feel pretty low energy so it’s easy to check in with this and the sense that I reallllly want my energy back. I’m fed up! This helps motivate me. I also visualize times where I’ve felt very alive, very energized… THAT’S where I want to be. The visualization is motivating to stay on track and helps me actually feel better throughout my day.

Overall- I’ve done pretty good. I am feeling pretty tired now though. Minimalizing activity at home was somewhat challenging- I can get pretty addicted to my TO-DO List… Guess it’s time to shut off the computer, the phone, and really relax.  🙂

juice

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dan
    Mar 03, 2014 @ 17:33:11

    You are absolutely right – if you are going to be a social person and interact with people … you’ll eventually catch a cold – and you didn’t do anything wrong. That’s life! Next time you’ll be ready to just begin at Step 4 …. (now that you’ve gotten steps 1-3 down) – Step 4 can be repeated every four hours as needed. “I’d like to relax and be compassionate towards myself that I’m getting sick, without beating myself up and convincing myself my life is falling apart and I’m a huge failure.”
    😉

    Reply

  2. thirstyt
    Mar 05, 2014 @ 21:25:57

    Love it Dan! Yes for positive affirmations.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

