5 Days Sugar-Free

IMG_7198

I had an amazing weekend with lots of activity and exercise.

Annnd…. I ate many peanut M&Ms, sugary granola bars, sugary trail mix, cookies, brownies, cheesecake, annd visited and indulged at Ben&Jerry’s factory in Vermont.

I feel okay right now.  The balance of exercise and a diet of mostly veggies/grains makes a difference.

And, I’d like to eat less sugar.  So, for the sake of actually taking a break from sugar, I’m declaring myself addicted to sugar.

Yes. I am sugarholic.
I can’t have just one cookie, just one handful of M&Ms, just one spoonful of sugary peanut-butter. It always ends up being 2, 3 ,4 or more.  When I am indulging, a very powerful story takes over.

It’s okay to be eating this.  My life is just fine. Eating this sugar doesn’t have much of an effect.  I’m happy I eat sugar. It’s a part of my life, a part of my culture. Relax Tamreh, no big deal.  Stop trying to control yourself, just eat the sugar.

Ugh.  So powerful. Like an alcoholic who can’t have just one drink, I can’t have just one cookie.  If I want to change my relationship to sugar- I believe I need to make a clean break (at least for a while).

Eating sugar does not support my highest goals! I want to be as healthy and thriving as possible. I don’t need sugar! I can satisfy a sweet craving in many ways that do not involve sugar.

So-for the sake of feeling awesome I will NOT eat sugar for 5 days.
Monday June 16-Friday June 20 I will not eat sugar or anything that has sugar in it. 

This is totally possible for me.  I start with 5 days to show myself I can do it, to see what happens, and find out how I feel.
To support myself in this commitment I am: posting here, putting it into my icalander, telling my friends and family, and having a yummy sugar-free alternative already available for myself.  I will also post on this blog a sugar-free sweet treat every day for the next 5 days.

Yay! Wish me luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

