Day 5 Sugar Free Sweet Treat- CHOCOLATE PEANUT BUTTER DESSERT BAR

IMG_7265 IMG_7253IMG_7259

Wow. Things are getting better and better in the healthy dessert world I am exploring.  Chocolate peanut butter cups have been one of my favorite desserts, and I’m now finding a way to make a HEALTHY version of this!! I am thrilled!

And, I’m learning to trust the process. This didn’t come out perfect, but I learned a lot along the way. And next time will be a little different, and probably a little better.  And lucky for me, it still tastes incredible.

Basically take homemade nut butter, and homemade chocolate, put them together, put them in the freezer, then cut them up!

Make your own nut butter.  Healthier and cheaper (I’m pretty sure) than the store alternative. And simple to make.  All you do is put a bunch of nuts into a food processor or high speed blender, and let it spin until it clumps and gets creamy (May take up to 15 minutes) I recommend roasting and salting plain nuts for about 10 minutes before putting them in the processor.  This time I used Whole Foods organic already roasted/salted nuts.  Only took about 5 minutes of blending until it started clumping. I added a little more honey, cinnamon and salt for extra flavor. If adding extra ingredients, take the nut butter out of the processor and fold in the ingredients with a spoon.  Otherwise the butter might get flakey. Try this website for more help on making your own nut butter.

IMG_7255IMG_7256IMG_7257

I put some coconut oil on a plate, then spread the peanut butter on the plate, about 1/4 inch thick? I put this in the freezer.

Now for the chocolate! I’ve been playing around with Emily’s chocolate recipe, from Rawsome Vegan Life. This time for the sweetener I used a mix of half coconut nectar and half maple syrup.  I put this in a glass measuring cup which I then put in hot water to help the coconut melt.  I ended up with what looked like caramel.  Amazinnng.  Since it’s a warm day the chocolate was very smooth, so I put it in the fridge for a few minutes to help it harden.  I then spread this mixture over the cold peanut butter slab and put the whole thing back in the freezer.

IMG_7261IMG_7262

IMG_7264

When I went to cut the creation, I found the chocolate to be harder than the peanut butter.  This would be perfect it I had made little cups like the Reese’s ones.  However, for getting off the plate and cutting, this proved a little challenging.  If I do it this way again I’ll use only maple syrup as a sweetener, as this creates a softer chocolate.

IMG_7268

I ended up cutting the chocolate slab in half and making a sandwich.  I took the other half of the peanut butter slab, smushed it into a ball, and put it in the  fridge for regular use.  It’s not quite staying together when I cut it, but it’s good enough and will do. And most importantly, it still tastes amaziingggggg. Cheers! 😀

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather Eats Almond Butter
    Jun 21, 2014 @ 01:05:55

    Coconut oil & peanut butter sandwiched between a homemade chocolate slab? Sounds much better than a little Reese’s. 🙂

    Reply

  2. thirstyt
    Jun 21, 2014 @ 15:37:19

    Thanks Heather! And thanks again for your blog on making almond butter- it’s been very helpful to me! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

